McCain And Who?

Yesterday I learned that John McCain picked Alaska Governor Sarah Palin as his Vice-Presidential running mate. I am surprised and not surprised about it.

I know nothing about Palin, but she’s a woman, which is fantastic. This country will either have an African-American President or a female Vice-President and it’s about time! This is the kind of history that should have been made a long time ago.

(Click unless you have really good eyes.)

Interesting and smart move, right? I can clearly see why McCain made this choice.

  • He’s trying to attract those former Hillary fans.
  • He wanted to keep the conservatives happy.
  • He wanted someone who’s young and dynamic.

Fair enough. But I am assuming that John McCain really analyzed who Palin is, her believes and abilities, before making his decision. While researching about Sarah Palin online, I learned that she is a member of the NRA and likes to hunt and fish. She also supports drilling for oil in the Alaskan National Wildlife Refuge.

It’s a big risk taken by our oldest ever candidate for president. But it might work.

What do you guys think?

5 responses to “McCain And Who?

  1. She also thinks that creationism should be taught alongside biology in public school classrooms.

  2. Her “executive” experience consists of 20 months as Alaska’s governor and some time as the mayor of a town with fewer than 10000 people. She has lived in Idaho for three months and in Alaska for the remainder of her 44 years. I’m sure that she has had to deal with a lot of urban problems and that diversity is an integral part of her population. This is not meant as a knock on Alaska…I love the place. But being able to distinguish between moose, elk, yak, and caribou hardly qualifies as experience in coping with a diverse population. Palin seems to exhibit a very limited and exclusionary view of the world as exhibited by her extreme stand on numerous social issues. Based on her attitude toward Iraq…she really hasn’t thought much about it, she claims…I have a feeling that if you gave her a matching test of countries and their leaders, she would probably fail miserably. I realize that Biden has to walk a tightrope in his debate with her, but if she isn’t up to the task that night, I hope her lack of knowledge on international affairs is blatantly exposed and that McCain’s pick will be seen for what it was: pure and simple political expediency. Do you really think that she should be one heartbeat away from the red button because she can relate to other women as a “hockey mom”? She may be a wonderful person…so was my mom…but I wouldn’t have entrusted the presidency to her either. The debate that I would like to see is the one between Sarah and Hillary!

  3. I agree with you. We are just a heartbeat away from the presidential elections for last minute decisions.
    Sarah might be a great person but she clearly won’t have a clue of the problems affecting my community, South Florida. The diversity of cultures, the geographical location… just to name a few, are very different than Alaska and especially that little town with a population of 10,000.
    The Sarah vs Hillary debate will be a very interesting topic. All of this just makes me really excited for the upcoming elections.

  4. when I heard who was Palin, I laughed. when I learned the news for her daughter, I cried.
    the conservatives are dismaying.

Leave a Reply

